Posted by: birdmaddgirl | 20 January 2010

Jitter Bug

i’m starting to have that i-can’t-believe-this-is-really-going-to-happen jittery feeling about Mexico. it’s not a bad feeling, but i was bound to get nervous at some point. (if you’re curious about where i’ll be, you can click the link to the right – Maya Tulum.) part of it is that i still need to pack and reread all of the material the trip coordinator sent me. then i have to make some decisions about how to handle money – cash? debit? change to pesos? how much? plus i have all the small things to do: organize my ipod, clear space on my camera, make sure i have travel size necessities. blah blah blah.

i’m behind on many things this month, but by the end of it i’ll have read quite a lot of books and done quite a lot of yoga, especially since both activities will feature prominently in my week retreat. two yoga classes a day for a week! i’m not going to want to leave. my planned reading list includes: Edwidge Danticat, Cesar Vallejo, America’s Best Travel Writing 2000, Virginia Woolf, a book on the Cherokee, and a book on pranayama. i may toss a couple more in there – i’m worried that this is not enough for a week for me.

i will, of course, practice my Spanish and intend to take some Welsh podcasts with me to practice that too. i’m going to wait until i get back to practice my Cherokee.

one of the things i’m most looking forward to is no contact with the outside world. no celular. no computadora. nada. (so if you have something to say to me, best say it in the next two days!) i’m hoping to come home with some poems, or at least sketches of poems, since i’ll have time to devote to it without distraction.

for the last couple weeks i’ve been doing more core-focused yoga than ever – core vinyasa with Peter, Rachel, and Elizabeth, and also Forrest yoga with Peter, Rachel, and Nicole. i’m in love with Rachel’s 7 a.m. core class. gets me out of bed and moving plus it’s a small class. Rachel gives excellent adjustments and i always feel like i challenge myself in her classes. this morning i tried out my first bird of paradise (which looks something like this if you’re good at it, mine is not like that at all, but it will be one day) – so fun! i think this pose will be easier when my shoulder is all the way. i also had a good side crow (ok, a good left side crow) this morning. someday, arm balances, we are going to rock out.

this week i had another person ask if i teach yoga. this is three people in just about a month, none of whom know each other. my roommate says the universe is trying to tell me something. i say the universe is telling me something i already know, so it better cough up $3,000.

Leave a Reply

Categories

