Posted by: birdmaddgirl | 23 July 2011

afraid of change afraid of staying the same

it’s been about a month since i completed my yoga teacher training. i’ve done a bit of yoga and a bit of volunteering and an ashtanga workshop in the meantime, but no active teaching stuff. i got to spend time with some of my lovely ytt-friends last weekend and got smacked with how much i missed doing it. it’s looking like, yes, i do want to teach, even if it’s not my top priority. but teaching won’t happen if i don’t make space in my life for it. i promised myself that i would change that.

today i plotted out the general shape of an intermediate class. i will still need to lead my own body through it at least once to make adjustments. i also want to talk through the class several times if possible. then i invited some people to practice on two days next week.

as soon as i sent out the invites, my stomach dropped and my jaw tightened. no going back now! even though i’ve invited only friends and fellow yogis whom i trust and know will be supportive, i’m already terrified. but i know that it will get easier with practice. i went through this with test teaching, too.

having a larger goal in mind helps. rox and i have some serious awesome plotting to do some day, and i deeply want to make that happen. and that’s what i’m going to remind myself of when i feel like i might throw up before teaching.

Responses

  1. rox and i have some serious awesome plotting to do some day, and i deeply want to make that happen. and that’s what i’m going to remind myself of when i feel like i might throw up before teaching.

    Thank you for this. I will also keep this in mind, because I haven’t done any practice teaching since May and now that we’re settled in the house I need to do some and plus N told me she needs to see me teach. iiiieee. If I have the plotting in mind as a larger goal, that should definitely help.


Leave a Reply

Categories

