Posted by: birdmaddgirl | 16 April 2012

rising to the heights

so i am working on my big research project intensely this year and next. i’m fortunate in that i am able to travel with Harvard to Chile for two months out of the summer, to which i’m adding a week-long trip to Cusco and Machu Picchu in Peru.

what’s my big project? it’s a literary study of Pablo Neruda’s poem “Las Alturas de Machu Picchu” (The Heights of Machu Picchu) that examines his depictions of native culture and people.  travel and research are not cheap, so i’ve launched a kickstarter project to help with funding.

you can check out my page here.

i’d like to thank the 16 generous backers who have helped me to reach half of my goal after only 3 days! this is a tremendous outpouring of support that makes me a little weepy.

i’ve set a very modest goal (unless you read your target for kickstarter projects, you get zero). i’m hoping not only to raise $1500 but perhaps a little more. additional funding would allow me to travel and research more, as well as helping me to cover more of the expenses for what’s already planned – just to give you an idea, this goal doesn’t even fund plane fare.

i hope that you’ll spread the word about my project, especially if monetary support isn’t possible. i’ve saved and planned for a long time to make this a reality, and i’m thrilled and nervous that it’s so close to happening.

i expect to update this blog with info and some photos when possible from my trip. there’s also the possibility that a friend will meet me in Peru to help with documentation. if that works out, there might well be some video diaries and other fun stuff.

i’m excited to share this. literary studies and indigenous studies are deeply important to me. i hope that i’ll be able to contribute to cultural and historical awareness by going toe-to-toe with one of the great poets of the 20th century.

Leave a Reply

Categories

