Posted by: birdmaddgirl | 1 April 2013

that goodreads/amazon thing


Responses

  1. Thanks for the link love, BirdMadGirl! I hope that list of GoodReads alternatives was useful.

    I know many are disappointed in the sale of GoodReads, but there are a number of solid alternatives out there. For bookshelfing efforts, I’ve found I like BookLikes quite a bit. And for connecting to friends, readers and authors I hope you’ll give ThirdScribe a try when our Beta launches.

    Rob

    • Thanks for the listing, Rob – it was a very useful article. I’m very keen to avoid the “the sky is falling” thing, although hard to not feel as if one doth protest too much. I did, in fact, ask for a beta invite. Looking forward to checking out the ThirdScribe platform. What’s your handle on BookLikes? I am test-driving that over the next couple of weeks.

  2. Thank you for signing up for ThirdScribe! We’re working hard at getting it up as soon as we can — much coding and designing going on as we head to the final stretch.

    I am liking BookLikes so far, though admittedly I am using it sparingly. They were having some trouble keeping up with everyone transferring their book lists from GoodReads, but have been giving it a steady effort and keeping in contact with their new customers, which is good. They are adding new features and refining others and that’s good.

    There are a few things I’d like to see that I think they are working on — mainly a faster interface to load books (now you search for a book, select it, add it to your bookshelf, then go to find another book), but I like the direction they are heading. I have concerns about their longevity because they are a free site, but they seem to have a plan.

    How about you? Have you been giving it a try? How about any of the others, like LibraryThing?

    • Hey – thanks for telling me about your BookLikes thoughts; it’s helpful to hear about how other folks are finding it. I haven’t done an import of my GR stuff yet onto BL. I’ve just been using it to catalog newly finished books. I agree that the book loading interface is a work-in-progress, and I have to admit that I’m not a fan of the shelf-view (a list is more useful for the way I use a site like this). I do really appreciate the way they keep up with updating and information sharing, though. I use LibraryThing as a catalog of books I actually own, and since I do a LOT of library reading (grad student alert!), I don’t want to cross-contaminate. I’m very much looking forward to checking out ThirdScribe. BL seems ok, but I’m not convinced that the tumblr-blog style is what I really want for my reading log.

      Good luck!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

